ITIL Certified Guide: Overview and Career Paths For Success

You are an IT expert who is looking to enhance your value in the workplace. or a small-business owner looking to safeguard the value of your IT investments by bringing in skilled IT experts? A ITIL Certified might be the solution to your requirements. Read on to find out the details of what ITIL is and what certifications are offered and the reasons why companies should benefit from this framework.

What is ITIL?

ITIL is a short form to Information Technology Infrastructure Library, was established in the late 80s in the UK’s Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA). It was created to provide standards for best practices in IT (IT) services offered by government agencies. Over the next forty years both small and large companies across a variety of industries and market sectors adopted, revised , and extended ITIL Certified to become its current form: A complete framework to manage IT services.

ITIL is the industry standard framework that is widely used to manage IT the delivery of services. The ITIL framework provides a model for the lifecycle of a service that is applicable to IT services. It defines specific processes and procedures for every phase of the IT service lifecycle, including the development, design and delivery of IT services.

ITIL 4 Overview

Over the past 30+ years since the first ITIL was introduced various versions of ITIL have been introduced to keep pace with or ahead of the changing requirements of business. ITIL 4 began its rollout in February of 2019 and has continued to grow and develop, leading to the demise of version 3 in 2021.

According to Axelos which is the owner of ITIL framework intellectual property, as well as the ITIL Framework intellectual property as well as the process for accreditation to approve certified trainers. ITIL 4 was designed to be in sync with ITIL with other IT management practices such as IT4IT, Agile, DevOps and Lean in addition to include feedback from users.

The 7 Principles of Guiding

Seven principles that form the basis to the ITIL 4 framework. Consider them as the goals that will be the basis for your company’s IT practices. These aren’t rules that you have to follow however, they are rather general guidelines that can be applied to any company or business.

  • Concentrate on the value.
  • Begin at the point you’re currently.
  • Iteratively, by incorporating feedback.
  • Work together and increase the visibility.
  • Work holistically and think about the whole picture.
  • Simple and practical.
  • Automate and optimize.

ITIL Certification Levels

A ITIL 4 Certification means an IT professional is certified in specific levels in the ITIL framework and is capable of providing IT management services required by their certification. If you’re a professional with this certification, it’s beneficial to your resume since it indicates your proficiency and skills. If you’re an owner of a business, hiring employees. So who have this certification will allow you to rely on IT professionals. Who are highly skilled to assist the needs of your IT department.

ITIL 4 Foundation

The name of the certification suggests that it is the ITIL 4 Foundation certification trains IT professionals in the basics in IT services management. It is and prepares for the daily duties and demands for the IT professional.

ITIL 4 Managing Professional

Next ITIL accreditation level is ITIL 4 Management Professional (ITIL MP) is a set of four modules design to provide IT experts with technical and practical capabilities to move to the next level, from ITIL specialist into ITIL Strategist. Every one of these four courses have distinct professional focus.

ITIL 4 Extension Modules

This ITIL4 Extension Modules were designed to provide IT professionals with the knowledge. But tools and strategies needed to use the latest technologies and changing realities. Because of the IT field now and into the near future.

ITIL Training

ITIL training courses are run by certified training institutions with a range of formats. Although Axelos has been the sole owner of this ITIL framework from 2013. So it has also maintained ITIL accreditation for educational and examination institutions. There are hundreds of ITIL accredited training institutions (ATOs) which are authoris to conduct training courses. And administer certification tests at the conclusion of the training program.

Individuals can also select an company for training in certification and exam preparation. They can then take their exam for certification at an accredited examination institute (EI). Because which includes a lot of which are directly affiliated together with ATOs. Exams and training courses are necessary to be certified.

Leave a Comment